Someday, Someday, Maybe

IMG_5804When I was watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix this summer, I fell in love with Lauren Graham as I watched her bring Lorelai Gilmore to life. I did a google search to see what else Lauren has done and when I saw that she wrote a book, I knew immediately that I wanted to read it… and I’m glad that I did.

In the debut novel, it’s 1995 and Franny Banks has just six months left of her three year deadline to make it as an actress. She has no agent and so far and the only job she’s booked is a commercial. She has the support from her father and her two roommates, her best friend and roommate from college, Jane, Dan, an aspiring writer. However, Franny finds herself wondering, does she really have a future as an actress or is she holding on to a dream that she should have let go of a long time ago?

Another way to explain it: this book is about making choices. Franny makes several choices in this book: the choice of what agent she should sign with, the choice on who she should date and the choice on weather or not she should give up on her dreams.

It didn’t take me long to fall in love with Franny. She’s the kind of character that you can’t help but fall in love with and cheer for. She’s very relatable with her lack of confidence, self-esteem and her curly hair that has a mind of it’s own. There were times in the novel where I cried with Franny, I celebrated with her and times where I wanted to crawl through the pages of the novel and tell her not to give up on herself.

Something I thought was done beautifully was the references to J.D Salinger’s Franny and Zooey. I liked how they were in there, yet explained (in a not obvious way). When I was reading Someday, Someday, Maybe I had not read Franny and Zooey, so I liked that I was able to get the connection that Lauren was trying to make. Laruen’s novel did get me to pick up the short stories and I was abel to see the connection between the Frannys.

Another thing I applaud is the use of dialogue. I love dialogue and I love seeing how the characters interact with each other.(I love writing dialogue too.) It tells you so much about the character. Yet, dialogue is something that i’ve noticed many authors shy away from. Not only is dialogue used in this novel it’s used well. I loved the whiteness of it and the realness of it.

The story took place in 1995. Yes, were talking about the days of land lines, answering machines and the filo fax.I loved that in the novel you get to see the messages that people are leaving on her answering machine, the pages of the script that Franny was receiving from the fax machine and my favorite part, the inside of Franny’s planner. I still use a paper planner (shout out to my Erin Condren planner) and if you flipped through it, you would learn things about me that you wouldn’t know from seeing me day to day. I loved that I got to see that side of Franny, perhaps, it may even be my favorite part of the novel.

“Imagine the best for yourself now and then. Won’t you, hon?” This is my favorite quote from the book, possibly one of my favorite quotes. I felt the need to include it in this post somehow. I think it’s a reminder that we all need every once in a while. I actually look at it every day because I had a cover for my planner made with that quote on it.

This following paragraph may be considered a spoiler, so if you haven’t read the novel, you may want to skip it.

Lauren, if by some chance you are reading this, I want you to know, I AM DYING TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS. Does Franny get the acting job? Do Franny and Dan end up together? Does he answer the phone while she is talking in to the machine? I was outside reading in my back yard when I finished the book and I stared yelling those questions out loud (pretty sure the neighbors think i’m psychotic now too. Really the ending was a total surprise to me. Now, as a writer, I know that when a reader has this kind of reaction to your work, it gives you a warm fuzzy feeling inside. So, let me ask you this: are you still woking on another novel? I heard you say in an interview that was forever ago that you were working on another novel that wasn’t a sequel but more like a companion. I really hope that’s true because I really loved your writing and I’m really dying to know what happens to Franny.

Possible spoiler section over.

In case you didn’t gather earlier, I really liked this novel. If I had to give it a rating, i’d give it 4/5 stars. It’s not five stars because the ending left me with too many questions.

Have you read Someday, Someday, Maybe?  Do you agree with me or not? Are you obsessed with Gilmore Girls like I am? Do you just adore Lauren Graham (also like me)? Tell me all about it in the comments!

Much Love,

Kate

Someday, Someday, Maybe

One thought on “Someday, Someday, Maybe

Leave a Reply

