Books We’re Thankful For:2015

thankful

Hey guys! It’s thanksgiving week, and it’s a time where everyone give thanks. Here at Book Alphas, we’re thankful for books! So today, we thought we’d tell you exactly what books we’re thankful for.

And before we get in to it, we want to take a second to apologize for our inconsistent posting. We’ve been crazy busy with projects and finals and basically college life. We’re going to be more consistent in the new year, we’re even looking at twice a week!

Five:

Tina’s Pick-

The Clique Series by Lisi Harrison. Some of the very first books I ever read were the books in the Clique Series. Following the adventures of Massie Block and her friends showed me how reading could be a fun experience that transports you to another world. Not only did these books help spur my love of reading when I was younger, but they also helped bond me to one of my favorite people and best friends, Kate. This series not only impacted my life but truly helped me fall in love with reading.

Kate’s Pick-

The Fame Game by Lauren Conrad. I really love all of Lauren Conrad’s books because they got me in to reading again after I finished the Clique Series. However, I choose this book specifically because it was The Fame Game book tour that I got to meet Lauren Conrad. She complimented my dress and I was ecstatic. She also thought I was cute because I had all of her books with me and she’s a super sweet person. I wish she’d write another series!

Four:

Tina’s Pick-

Two Little Girls in Blue, by Mary Higgins Clark. I read this book when I was in the sixth grade for an author project. For years, I could not get it out of my head and kept trying to find it in every bookstore. I finally found it when I saw it and remembered the title about a year ago in a Goodwill. This book is about a family whose two twins are kidnapped. When one is returned for ransom and the other believed to be dead, the mother refuses to believe in her other daughter’s death because it seems the twin at home can communicate with her sister. The book as a whole is an edge-of-your-set thriller that is written beautifully, definitely worth searching for a few years to find.

Kate’s Pick-

Heart of The Matter by Emily Giffin. I only read this book for the first time back in October but it was soo good, I had to put it on this list. This book tells the story of two women, Tessa and Valerie whom have absolutely nothing in common until one night where a tragic accident connects their lives. The story is told in alternative points of view of Tessa and Valerie and tells a very unique story. I read it in like three days and if you’re a fan of Something Borrowed, there’s a update on Rachel and Dex in this book!

Three:

Tina’s Pick-

The Crank Trilogy by Ellen Hopkins. I know I wrote about another book by Hopkins awhile ago but I am going to sing her praises again because she is one of my favorite authors ever. Crank and its subsequent two sequels was some of the first more grown up books I decided to read, and I am glad every day I did. Not only did these books scare me from doing drugs forever, it reminds me every time I read it the importance of not losing sight of what is important in life.

Kate’s Pick-

So I know I’ve talked about this book in a previous post but that’s not going to stop me from mentioning this book again, If You Have To Cry, Go Out Side and Other Things Your Mother Never Told You by Kelly Cutrone. I’ve now read this book twice and i’ll probably read it a few more times. Kelly Cutrone has really influenced my life through this book. The first time I read it I was in tenth grade and I didn’t realize how much it stuck with me until earlier this year when I reread it and kept saying to myself, that’s where I got this from. I love Kelly’s outlook on life and she gives some great advice in this book. I firmly believe that it’s a book that every woman should read at least one in her life.

Two:

Tina’s Pick-

The Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling. Hands down my favorite series ever, which is no surprise to anyone who knows me. I am the biggest Harry Potter fan. I have seen all the movies, read all the books, gone to as many midnight premieres as possible, and will be getting a season pass to the Universal in LA just so I can go the HP World there all the time. Harry Potter has brought some of the best people into my life through Quidditch (I play at my college). This series has impacted my life so deeply and makes me beyond happy every day.

Kate’s Pick-

Lock & Key by Sarah Dessen. This was the second Sarah Dessen book I read and one of the few books i’ve finished reading and said “this is my favorite book.” I think about this story all the time, and this book and Sarah’s writing has really influenced  my own writing. I guess I like this book because I’m a sucker for this kind of series. It’s about Ruby who was living with her mom until she disappeared. Once it was discovered she was living by herself, she is sent to live with her other sister, Cora, and her husband, Jamie. The story is about Cora and Ruby rebuilding their relationship and them growing closer together. Yes, it’s amazing and I love it and I cant say enough good things about it.

One:

Tina’s Pick-

Thirteen Reason’s Why by Jay Asher. If you have ever read this novel, then you understand why I have chosen it for my number one book I am most thankful for. I plan on writing a long blog post soon talking about it, because I cannot express in just this short amount of space how amazing this book is. It makes you think about every action you take and how it affects others. It will make you feel happy and sad and emotional. It will make you question mankind’s kindness, but then feel overjoyed at our capacity to learn. I can honestly say this book changed the way I see the world, and for anyone who reads it, I hope it changes your world too.

Kate’s Pick-

Like Tina, I pick The Clique series but I am going to pick a specific book in the series Revenge of the Wannabes. This is my favorite book in the series and it’s still one of my favorite books ever (and it’s one of the other books I closed and said ‘this is my favorite book’). I just loved everything about this book, especially how it’s one of the few books in the series that’s told in a point of view other than Massie and Claire. This is one of the books I took with me when I met Lisi Harrison and i’ve read this book so many times, i’ve lost count of the exact number of times i’ve read it. Really this series means everything to me (as do all of Lisi’s other books) but this book specifically, is the one I keep coming back to.

So what books are you guys thankful for? Did any of our picks make the list? Tell us!

Much Love,

Tina & Kate

Books We’re Thankful For:2015

Leave a Reply

