Christmas Song Book Tag

merry-christmas-537x402

MERRY CHRISTMAS YALL! So, I was just going to post a book review today but I was on youtube watching booktube videos and I came across this book tag. And what better day to do a book tag about Christmas songs than on Christmas day?

1. “You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch”
Name a villainous character you couldn’t help but love.

how-the-grinch-stole-christmas2

The Grinch form Dr. Susses’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas. This is actually one of my favorite christmas stories ever. (Yes, I realize the picture above is from the movie adaptation but I don’t care.) How does one not love the Grinch?

2. “All I Want for Christmas is You”
Which book to you most hope to see under your Christmas tree?

This year, i’m really hoping I got Fan Girl by Rainbow Rowell and the duo of Bumped and Thumped by Megan McCaffetry. All of these books have been on my TBR list for a long time and for some reason, I haven’t gotten around to buying or reading any of them.
3. “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”
Name a character that overcomes major obstacles and learns to believe in themselves.

IMG_5804

Franny Banks from Lauren Graham’s Someday, Someday, Maybe. She doesn’t believe in herself at the beginning of the novel but at the novel progresses she slowly does start to believe in herself as she over comes obstacles. I love Franny.

(I wrote a full blog post about this novel if you’d like to check it out)

4. “Santa Claus is Coming to Town”
a) Which character do you think would be on the top of the naughty list
b) Which character do you think would be at the top of the nice list?

IMG_6284 

At the top of the naughty list, I’m placing Dr. Nick Russo from Emily Giffin’s Heart of the Matter. He cheated on his wife, Tessa, with Valerie, who was the mother of his six year old burn patient, Charlie.  But fear not, Nick, you are the only Emily Giffin character who made the naughty list. I was temped to list pretty much the entire cast of Something Borrowed and Something Blue.

IMG_6098

At the top of the nice list, I’m placing Layla Chatham from Sarah Dessen’s Saint Anything. She’s the ultimate best friend that very girl needs in her life and she’s just such a sweet and nice person.

5. “Frosty the Snowman”
Which book just melts your heart.

IMG_6285 

So, I know I just mentioned a Sarah Dessen book but guess what? I’m listing another one. Her book,  Just Listen is a book that really mets my heart.  In the story, Annabel’s life seems perfect from the outside of the family’s glass house but her life is anything but perfect. Her best friend, Sophie has just dropped her and her older sister is struggling with anorexia. But then she meets Owen Armstrong. Owen is the ‘bad boy’ who is music obsessed. The friendship that he and Annabel from makes me so happy that it actually melts my heart.

6. “Feliz Navidad”
Choose a book that takes place in a country other than your own.

IMG_6286  

Just One Day by Gayle Forman. Ok, so technically half of the book takes place in America but majority of the book takes place in France. So it counts, right?

7. “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”
Which holiday themed book do you use to spread the Christmas joy?

8e37412503424f72a79267bf08978d38

 

My favorite holiday book is Molly’s Surprise by Valerie Tripp.  It’s the third out of the seven books written in Molly’s series. When I was in elementary school, I read this book pretty much every year at the holiday time. I highly recommend it to everyone, no matter what your age is. I even still have my copy of it, even if I’m not exactly sure where it is.

8. “Sleigh Ride”
Which fictional character would you choose to spend the holidays with (doesn’t have to be a love interest!)

IMG_6020

Lara Jean from Jenny Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S, I Still Love You because I’d love to hang out with her and her family and try some of her baking.

(I also wrote a full post about both of these books. You should read it.)

9. “Baby it’s Cold Outside”
Which book that you didn’t like would you sacrifice to a fire to warm yourself up in the cold?

IMG_6287 

I have a problem sacrificing a book, even if I didn’t like it. But for this synopsis and since this is all pretend, I’m going to pick the The Death Code by Lindsay Cummings. I hate to do this because I’ve met Lindsay a couple of times and she’s a really cool person but I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book. I didn’t even finish it.

10. “Do you hear what I hear”
Which book do you think everyone should read?

IMG_6288 

This is a hard pick because I love so many books and there are so many books that I think everyone should read but for this one, i’m going to pick The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu. It’s about Alice, who everyone knows, slept with two guys in one night at the same party. This story is told from everyone’s point of view but Alice’s and at the end, you’re able to put together the truth about Alice. It’s a quick read, less than 200 pages but it’s an incredibly moving and powerful story.

Merry Christmas again! I hope your holiday is happy and that Santa left you some books under your tree.

Much Love,

Kate

Christmas Song Book Tag

Leave a Reply

