The Daughters Join the Party

The Daughters Join the Party is the fourth book in the daughters series by Joanna Philbin. This story follows Emma Conway whose father, is a senator in New York. Emma has alway felt like the outcast in her family and when her father tells her of her plans to run for president, this only makes her feel like more of an outcast within her family. Especially with her bother, Remington, who can do no wrong. At an event, Emma accidentally announces that her father is running for president and she is thrown in to the spotlight, and she starts to feel the pressure to be the perfect first daughter.

I was surprised that Joanna Philbin decided to write a fourth book in the daughters series. I remember when the first book came out in the series, The Daughters, there was originally supposed to be three books. The Daughters that followed Lizzie, The Daughters Break the Rules that followed Carina, and The Daughters take the Stage that followed Hudson. These are companion novels, meaning you can read one without having to read the other novels and the story will make since.  I loved the first three books in this series, so when I found out about the fourth, I knew I had to read it- even if it did take me a few years to get to it.

I almost wish that the series would have been left at three books. It’s not that I didn’t like the story, because I did but I just didn’t love it. Maybe it was because I waited too long to read it. I read the first book right when it came out in 2010 and I read the other two stories back to back in the summer of 2012.

Emma was cool. I liked her spunk and how she wanted to be true to herself, no matter what others thought. Also, she knew of Gwen Stefani in the Return of Saturn era, meaning she’s a No Doubt fan. Loved that reference.

I also liked how this story also managed to bring back Lizzie, Carina and Hudson. I loved reading their stories so much. So it was nice to get an update on how they were doing and what’s going on in their lives.

I had a hard time keeping my interest in this story. There was parts where the story was moving pretty slow and there were a couple of side stories that could have been left out because they didn’t add anything. I also think it would have made the story more interesting if Emma accidentally announce her Dad running for president if it had happened sooner in the book.

I’m giving The Daughters Join the Party 3/5 stars because I liked this story but I just didn’t love it.

Have you read The Daughters Join the Party? Did you read any of the other daughter’s books? I’d love it if you’d share your thoughts with me!

Much love,

Kate

The Daughters Join the Party

One thought on “The Daughters Join the Party

Leave a Reply

