Identical

 

IMG_6278Before I get in to talking about the book, let me explain this picture. As you might have figured out from previous posts, my co-blogger, Tina, is a huge Ellen Hopkins fan. I’m always looking for a good book, so when Tina was telling me about Ellen Hopkins, I looked at the summaries of her books on Goodreads and thought that Identical looked really interesting and I added it to my check out cart on amazon. That was several months ago. So when I finally did get around to reading it, I sent her this ridiculous selfie.

Identical is about identical twins, Kaeleigh and Raeanne. Their mother is a politician and their father is a district court judge. They look like the perfect family but in fact, they’re far from it. Kaeleigh and Raeanne both have dark secrets- Kaeleigh is being abused by their father and Raeanne is craving that affection, feeling like she is loosing at the game of Daddy’s favorites. Eventually it gets to a point where Kaeleigh nor Raeanne can handle it on their own and one will have to step up and save the other. But who?

I liked how the twins personalities were different but different in a way so that Kaeleigh and Raeanne complimented each other.

This was hard to read at times for a couple of reasons.

The first reason being, Kaeleigh and Raeanne some pretty dark secrets and demons. Being inside their minds was pretty difficult at times.

The second reason was at times, the story did kind of drag on. I wish the plot and the pace of the story would have moved faster. At times, I felt like I was forcing myself to finish this book.

This novel is written in verse, meaning it’s in poetry. This didn’t scare me off because when I was in middle school, I loved reading Sonya Sones’s books. Although, it did take some getting used to with how some of the stanzas are aligned left while others might be centered or aligned to the right. I didn’t like this at first but as I continued reading I grew to like it. It really adds to the tension and emotions of the story.

I almost put this book down but I’m really glad I didn’t. The ending was fantastic and I absolutely did not see it coming.

I liked this book but I didn’t absolutely love it, so I gave it 3/5 stars. I’m not going to rush to pick up another Ellen Hopkins book but I wouldn’t be opposed to reading another one. Burned is still on my TBR after reading Tina’s fabulous review of it.

Have you read Identical? Tell me your thoughts about it!

 

Identical

Leave a Reply

