The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Hadley Sullivan misses her flight to London, for her fathers wedding, by four minutes. Luckily, she’s able to get on another flight that takes off a few hours later. While she’s waiting to catch her next flight and trying not to think about the wedding that’s she’s been dreading for the last year, she meets Oliver, a cute and charming British boy, who also ends up not only being on her flight, but having the seat next to hers. What Hadley finds in the twenty-four hours that follow, is that those four minutes changed her life forever.

I’m going to say it up front, my favorite part about this book was the last page. I can’t say what happens, obviously, because that would be a spoiler (and we at Book Alphas don’t approve of spoilers). But I will say it was absolutely adorable  and it was where the tittle of the book comes from.

So, I will say that this story follows Hadley and what happens after she and Oliver separate at the airport.  The summary on the back of the book didn’t make that so clear. I was relieved to find this out, because there’s only so much that can be done with the two sitting on the air plane.

I do wish there would have been last time spent on the air plane. That was about the first half of the book and at times, I felt like it was moving a bit slow. My favorite part was the second half of the book, where Hadley was at the wedding/ running around London. I loved seeing the effect that her such short time with Oliver had on her.

I love Jennifer E. Smith’s writing style. I’m typically not such a huge fan of third person but I love the way she does it. This is the second book i’ve read by her (the first being This is What Happy Looks Like.) and I am still blown away with how beautiful her writing is.

I did enjoy reading this book. It was a fun quick read and everything that’s good about young adult contemporary.

Also, I know that The Statistical Probability of Love at Fist Sight is being adapted in to a movie! I’m not sure exactly when it’s coming out but I do look forward to it. I think it’s going to make a cute chick flick. And, Hailee Steinfeld is going to be playing Hadley. I’m super excited about this because I loved her in Barely Lethal.

I liked this book but it didn’t blow me away. I also found the plot very predictable and because of that I gave it 3/5 stars.

Have you read The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Or have you read any of Jennifer E. Smith’s other books? Tell me about those too because I can’t decide what one I should pick up next.

Much Love,

Kate

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Leave a Reply

