Bumped

IMG_6466

Bumped, by Megan McCafferty, takes place the year 2036 where a virus has swept the plant making anyone over the age of eighteen infertile. So, teen girls have become the most important people on the planet. Adults are paying these girls to have children for them.Melody, a sixteen year old has scored a huge contract with a rich couple to “bump”. But, Melody’s luck is about to run out. Her long lost twin identical sister Harmony, who was raised in a colt like religious community, comes up out of nowhere and a case of mistaken identity could ruin everything.

Really, I’m not sure where to start with this book.

I didn’t know much about this book going in to it other than it was a book about teen pregnancy. I didn’t expect it to be dystopian. I thought it was going to be more of a contemporary, witch in some ways it was. It was like a mix of those two.

I liked how it was told in alternating point of view between the two twins, Harmony and Melody. This way, you were able to see things through both of their eyes. It also helped keep the pace of the story moving quickly.

I would have liked a bit more of an explanation about the virus and bumping. Yes it was eventually explained but specifically, in the first few chapters. It was confusing at first.

I wish the virus would have had a name. Yeah, calling it “the virus” doesn’t take away from the story but had it had a name, it would have given some depth to the world.

Also, in the first two chapters, I would have liked to seen more distinction between Harmony and Melody.  Yes, they’re very different and they’re names are at the top of each chapter when the switch off happens but there was a couple of times where I had to couple take because they were acting so similar.

I actually ended up really enjoying this book for the first fifty or so pages, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. At one point, I remember thinking probably shouldn’t have bought the sequel right away. But I really got in to it, the two hundred-ish pages I read in one sitting.

It was an interesting take on teen pregnancy and surrogate pregnancy. It’s definitely unlike anything I read before.

And the thing I really didn’t expect was, I can’t wait to dive in to the sequel, Thumped. I can’t stop thinking about the unexpected ending

Because of the uniqueness of this story and because I wasn’t able to put it down, I gave Bumped 4/5 stars.

Have you read Bumped? I’d love it if you shared your thoughts with me!

Much love,

Kaitlyn

 

Bumped

Leave a Reply

