Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets

IMG_6328
This is my Best Friend’s Favorite HP book. I sent her this when I started reading it.

I’ve started reading the Harry Potter series for the first time… and I’m in college.

As a child, Harry Potter never interested me. I didn’t want to read about a boy who was off at wizzarding school. I wanted to read american girl books, the Junie B. Jones books and as I got in to middle school, I started reading Ally Carter and Lisi Harrison’s books. I’ve always been (let’s face it, I still am) in to the more contemporary type books.  I did try to read harry potter once when I was in grade school, around fourth grade. I read about twenty pages before I decided I didn’t like it. (I think a lot of it had to do with the fact it was the wrong book but i’m not a hundred percent on that. It was over ten years ago.)

So what made me decide to pick up Harry Potter later? The main thing that made me decide to pick up Harry was that everyone who talks about it raves about how amazing the writing is. As a writer, I’m always wanting to read the writing of those who are better than me. Other reasons that contributed to me picking up Harry include, I was sick of not getting all the references to it in pop culture, I was sick of getting the GASP! YOU HAVEN’T READ HARRY POTTER, and it doesn’t hurt that it’s my best friend, Tina’s, favorite thing ever.

I wasn’t initially going to finish the series. The I had mixed feelings on the first book when I finished in in 2015. What made me decide to finish the series, was one day when I had writer’s block, I decided to watch interviews of J.K Rolling on youtube. Man, that woman is amazing. I loved watching her talk about these characters, as if they were real people and how she knew what happened to them, long after the series finished. Now, i’m not comparing myself to her by any means but the way Joanne talks about Harry and this gleam in her eyes, is similar to me when I talk about my characters/ stories.  It was then I decided that I would finish the series in 2016.

Quick disclaimer before I start talking about the book, this post contains spoilers from this point on.  I know, that you all have probably read the series but if some slim chance, you’re like I was, it’s your chance to escape this post before something is ruined for you.

Normally when giving a review, I’d give a summary of the book, but since more people than not have read these, I’m not going to do that. However, if you need a refresher, click on the tittle of the book and it’ll take you to the good reads page where you can read the book’s summary.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was the very first book I read in 2016. First, let me start off by saying that I am still blown away as Voldemort as Tom Riddle used Ginny to open the chamber. Truthfully, I don’t think i’ll ever get over that. The pace in this one moved much faster (witch I really appreciated) and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.  One thing I loved about Chamber so much was that you start to see the relationship between Ron and Hermonie start to develop (At this point, I knew that Ron and Hermonie get married. Also, I knew that Harry and Ginny marry. Remember those interviews I watched? Not exactly spoiler free.) The thing I loved most about Chamber was that the smallest, almost insignificant details from Sorcerer’s Stone came in to effect such as the storing hat almost placing Harry in Slytherin (I’m a Hufflepuff in case you were wondering) and Harry talking to the snake at the zoo. Honestly, I’m amazed at how much these much have been planned out.

So far, this is my favorite Harry Potter Book. Though, I have a feeling i’m going to love the fifth. What’s your favorite Harry Potter Book? Please NO SPOILERS, I haven’t finished the series yet!

Much Love,

Kate

 

Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets

Leave a Reply

