Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

img_6756 Tomorrow, I am super excited because I am going to a book festival! There will be many authors there including Julie Murphy author of Dumplin’, Nicola Yoon author of Everything Everything and Jesse Andrews who is author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.  When I go to meet authors or listen to them speak in panels, I like to have read their books before hand. At first, I didn’t even realize that Jesse Andrews was author of Me and Earl and The Dying Girl because the festival website only lists the author’s most current work. In the case of Jesse, it’s The Haters. I’m not sure how I found out that this book was his, but when I did, I went and bought a copy and read it immediately.

Me and Earl and The Dying Girl is about Greg (me) his friend Earl and a dying girl (named Rachel), it’s like the tittle says. So basically, high school sucks for Greg and that’s no big secret. He lays low and mingles with everyone. The only real friend that Greg has (Greg likes to think of hims more as a co-worker) is Earl, who he met in kindergarten. Together, the like to make films that are really bad and that they won’t let anyone watch. On the first year of his senior year, Greg’s mother informs him that one of his classmates, Rachel has leukemia and she forces Greg to hang out with her.

I have never laughed out loud so much at a book. Let alone, a book that’s about death. The cover of the book has a quote on it that compares it to The Fault in Our Stars I was expecting to feel heart broken, empty and cry my eyes out at the end of this novel. Not the case. As previously stated, this book had me laughing out loud the whole time, I couldn’t put this book down and I didn’t want it to end.

I loved the writing style. The characters were all so unique. I loved their distinct and hilarious voices. I loved how the background information was tied in. It was relevant to the story and the way it was told was so entertaining I didn’t care if it was important to the story or not. I just wanted to read this book and I was not a happy camper when I had to put it down.

Something that I thought was a great touch was that the novel while you’re reading it, you find that the story is told like the narrator, Greg has written this novel. And with that, you get gems like this “Although, let’s just do a new chapter, because this chapter got really fucked up somehow and i’m afraid of what will happen if I continue with it.”

This is the best book I’ve read in a long, long time and possibly one of my favorite books that i’ve ever read. I can’t wait to meet Jesse tomorrow and I can’t wait to dive in to his new book, The Haters.

I gave Me and Earl and the Dying Girl 5/5 stars. I really love this book.

Much love,

Kate

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

2 thoughts on “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Leave a Reply

