Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

IMG_6507
I sent this selfie to my Harry Potter loving BFF when I started the book.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the third book in the Harry Potter Series by J.K Rolling. Since most people have read the Harry Potter Series, this post is not spoiler free and you should not read it if you have not read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s  Stone (book 1)or Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets(book 2) because it might accidentally spoil those as well.

Wow. Just wow. I now understand why this is so many people’s favorite Harry Potter book.

Let’s start with this: Sirius Black wasn’t out to kill Harry but he was looking for Peter Pettigrew AKA Scabber’s, Ron’s pet rat. I’m still not over that. Really, i’m not over the last hundred pages of this book. Peter was the secret keeper, not Sirius. It was Peter who told Voldemort where Lilly and James were hiding- not Sirius. AND PETER WASN’T KILED BY BLACK BUT  WAS SCABBERS THIS WHOLE TIME!

J.K Rolling knows how to write a plot twist. I’m still not over the fact that Ginny was the one who was opening the chamber of secrets though Tom Riddle. Not sure I’ll ever be over that. I’m, pretty blown away about Scabbers aka Peter too but not on the level I was about Ginny and the chamber of secrets.

I’m saddened that Professor Lupin had to leave Hogwarts at the end of the book. I mean I get why but I really liked his character and I really liked watching him with Harry.

I’m also saddened by Sirius’s fate. He’s an innocent man but his innocents can’t be proven so he has to be on the run. (Also, i’m saddened that Harry can’t live with him and had to go back to the Dursley’s).

I reading this book was an easier read that the second book. It dived in to the action right away and kept up the pace throughout the book. I hate when the beginning of a book (or any part of a book, really) drags out.

I gave this book 4/5 stars but the second book is still my favorite because like I previously said, still not over Ginny having been the one opening the Chamber.

What are your thoughts on book three?

Much love,

Kate

 

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Leave a Reply

