Isle of the Lost

IMG_9131

Isle of the Lost by Melissa De La Cruz is the prequel to the Disney Channel Original Movie Descendants.

In The Isle of the Lost, we follow Mal the daughter of Maleficent, Evie the daughter of Evil Queen, Carlos who is Cruella De Vil’s son and Jay the son of Jafar. They live on The Isle of the Lost, and island where all the villains have been banished twenty years ago. It’s protected by a dome that makes leaving, no option and blocks out magic. Carlos thinks that a machine he built could possibly break the dome using science. When he turns on the machine, showing it to Evie, weird things start happening. Including the return of Maleficent’s evil sidekick, Diablo, the crow.Diablo says that the dragon’s eye is somewhere on the island and Maleficent sends Mal to go find it. Mal, enlists the help of Jay, Evie and Carlos to find the dragon’s eye. Will they be able to find it?

I love Disney. I watched the movie last summer when it premiered and thought it was the cutest thing ever. So naturally, I wanted to read the book. Reading this book after watching the movie won’t be confusing (that’s what I did) but reading the book before watching the movie won’t spoil anything. This story take place before the movie starts. In fact, the epilogue of the novel sets up for the movie.

I really enjoyed Mel’s (see what I did there? No, I didn’t come up with it.) writing style. I’m typically not a fan of third person but I found it very refreshing. I liked how the villian’s children were their own unique characters but you could still tell who their parent was.  I also enjoyed the alternating point’s of view between the four main characters. It helped keep up the pace of the story. Another point of view I enjoyed in the story was Prince Ben, of Auradon. He’s the son of Belle and the Beast. It was fun to see the perspective of the life of the princes and princesses of the “good” island and it was his point of view that helps this directly set up for the movie.

I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a fun and light read with an interesting take on these classic stories we all know and love. If you love the classic stories of these villains or love the disney movie, this book is a must read, no matter what your age. I rated this book 3/5 stars.

Much Love,

Kaitlyn

 

Isle of the Lost

Leave a Reply

