The Haters

The Haters is the second novel by Jesse Andrews, who is also the author of Me and Earl and The Dying Girl

Wes and Corey are at jazz camp and it doesn’t take them long to figure out how lame it really is. In their first camp rehearsal, they meet Ash. The three of them realize what a connection they have after they play together and they just click. They decide to blow off the lameness jazz camp and go on tour because no band ever got good at jazz camp. A band gets good by playing on the road.

I love Jesse’s writing style. He’s sarcastic and his humor is on the dry side. Which, for those who don’t know me, I love sarcasm and dry humor. I’ve laughed out loud while reading his two books more than all the other books i’ve read combined (i’ve read a lot of books).

I was a huge fan of Me and Earl and The Dying Girl and because of that, I had pretty high expectations going in to The Haters. Wes, Corey and Ash reminded me a lot of Rachel, Earl and Greg. The two novels had a very similar feel and i’m not just talking about in writing style. I mean, it almost felt like Earl, Rachael and and Greg were in a different setting. It did take me a while to get in to the story.

But I loved it once I got in to it. I loved reading about Wes, Corey and Ash getting to know each other on the road, their ups and downs. I loved watching them getting themselves in to trouble and somehow getting themselves out of it.

I gave The Haters 4/5 stars and i am not so patiently  waiting for Jesse’s third novel!

Much Love,

Kait

The Haters

Leave a Reply

